Skip to main content

To Be Announced

The Economic Club of Grand Rapids signature Annual Dinner takes place usually in May/June the and next one will be the 33rd annual event. It is always one of the most anticipated and prominent events in the community. The program typically features a high-level, well-known keynote Annual Dinner speaker in keeping with our mission of connect, inform and inspire. Also honoring recipients for both Business Person of the Year and the  Slykhouse Community Leadership awards always prove to be evening highlights.  We offer multi-levels of sponsorships as well as invitations to our entire membership for this special occasion. 

Past Annual Dinner Speakers

2019 – Nikki Haley, U.S. Ambassador to United Nations, 2017-19
2018 – Robert Gates, Secretary of Defense, 2006-2011
2017 – David Cameron, Prime Minister, UK, 2010-16
2016 – Ben Bernanke, Chairman, U.S. Federal Reserve, 2006-14
2015 – Derek Jeter, Legendary NY Yankee & Journalist, George Will
2014 – Richard Branson, Founder & Chairman, Virgin Group
2013 – Hillary Rodham Clinton, 67th Secretary of State
2012 – Tony Blair, Prime Minister, UK, 1997-07
2011 – Madeleine Albright, 64th Secretary of State & Gen. Colin L. Powell, 65th Secretary of State
2010 – George W. Bush, 43rd President, United States
2009 – Condoleezza Rice, 66th Secretary of State
2008 – Tom Brokaw, Retired NBC News Anchor
2007 – William Jefferson Clinton, 42nd President, United States
2006 – Bono, Co-Founder of DATA and Lead singer of U2
2005 – General Colin L. Powell, 65th Secretary of State
2004 – Madeleine Albright, 64th Secretary of State
2003 – Her Majesty Queen Noor, Queen of Jordan
2002 – Benazir Bhutto, Prime Minister of Pakistan, 1988-96
2001 – Antonin Scalia, U.S. Supreme Court Justice, 1986-16
2000 – F.W. DeKlerk, President of South Africa, 1989-94
1999 – John Major, Prime Minister, UK, 1990-97
1998 – Jeane J. Kirkpatrick, U.S. Ambassador to the UN, 1981-85
1997 – Shimon Peres, Prime Minister of Israel, 2007-14
1996 – Stephen R. Covey, Author, and Lecturer
1995 – Newt Gingrich, Speaker of the House, 1995-99
1994 – Gen. Colin L. Powell, Chair, Joint Chiefs of Staff, 1989-93
1993 – James A. Baker III, 61st Secretary of State
1992 – Gen. H. Norman Schwarzkopf, 4-Star General, U.S. Army
1991 –  Margaret Thatcher, Prime Minister, UK, 1979-1990
1990 – George F. Will, Pulitzer Prize Winning Columnist
1989 – Paul Erdman, Novelist, Economist
1988 – Mark Shields, Political Analyst

2019 Award Honorees

Peter F. Secchia

Managing Partner, SIBSCO, LLC

Slykhouse Community Leadership Award

Peter Secchia

Mike J. Jandernoa

Founder, 42 North Partners, LLC

Business Person of the Year Award

Become A Member

Become A Member